Established as a settlement in 1909, Tel
Aviv is now a bustling city of two million, a vibrant
center of entertainment, culture and big business. It
is also blessed with one of the world's most impressive
Tel Aviv stretches along the Mediterranean, and locals
and visitors alike enjoy evening strolls on the curving,
two-mile promenade that hugs the shoreline. Excellent
resort hotels face the beach. Altogether, the city boasts
6,000 hotel rooms, hostels and pensions that are found
along the Tayelet-an esplanade that runs from north Tel
Aviv to ancient Jaffa. There are dozens of nightclubs
in Tel Aviv, both ethnic and international. Many major
hotels have elegant clubs, as well as piano bars and discos.
In Tel Aviv travelers discover a variety of excellent
restaurants, including those considered Israel's finest.
Tel Aviv is Israel's major business and cultural center.
From Dizengoff Street in the north, to Rothschild Boulevard
in the south, Tel Aviv is filled with the treasured Bauhaus
buildings that have become the city's architectural signature.
Tree-lined Rothschild Boulevard wends its way through
Neve Tzedek, an area that is now undergoing a revival,
to one of the city's foremost cultural centers housing
the Frederic Mann Auditorium (home to the Israel Philharmonic)
the Helena Rubinstein Art Museum and Israel's Habima Theater.
Sheinkin Street: Just off Rothschild is Sheinkin Street,
where young Tel Aviv residents mix and mingle, congregating
at its cafes and nightspots. Its art shops, galleries
and boutiques are international in scope, but visitors
can also find Israeli handcrafted items. Yirmiyahu: Trendy
restaurants and pubs line Yirmiyahu, the Little Tel Aviv
district at the northern corner of Dizengoff Street; and
newly chic Florentine and Neve Tzedek. Nahlat Binyamin:
On the south side of town, Nahlat Binyamin Street is a
lively spot for young. Nahlat Binyamin pedestrian mall
draws crowds to its shops, artisan stalls and cafes. The
Carmel outdoor market borders Nahlat Binyamin and displays
the luscious abundance of Israel's produce along several
Some of Israel's most interesting museums can be found
in Tel Aviv: Ha'aretz Israel Museum is a multi faceted
institution that is housed in various buildings throughout
the city. The museum traces the development of regional
crafts and trades that have developed through the ages.
Beth Hatefutsoth, Museum of the Jewish Diaspora, tells
the story of the tribulations; achievements and unity
of the Jewish people, dispersed throughout the world,
during a time span of 2,500 years. Tel Aviv Museum of
Art exhibits the best of Israeli art, classical paintings,
Impressionists and Post-Impressionists, 20th Century Modern
Masters and more than 20,000 prints and drawings. Open
Museum of Rishon Le-Zion, housed in 100-year-old buildings,
includes exhibits such as a reconstruction of the world's
first Hebrew-speaking school and a sound-and-light show
that depicts the First Aliyah.
information about Tel Aviv.
Baldwin II overcame it with his fleet.
Lost to Saladin in 1187, reoccupied by Richard in 1191.
Valley in interior of coastal plain on the way to Judea
Hills with north-east/south-west direction from the north
of Latrun. A pass to 2 important roads from the coast
into the hills: one via Sha'ar Haguy and one via Beit
Horon. Because of its geographic situation and strategic
importance, has been a military objective and a battle
ground between attackers and defenders. Mentioned in EI-Amarna
letters as place passed through by caravans on the way
to Egypt. There Joshua beat the five kings (Joshua 10,
12); here Saul and Jonathan pursued the Philistines (Samuel
I, 14, 31). Fierce battles took place here during Hasmonean
and Roman and Crusader periods. Israel took the valley
in the Six-Day War, and the pass opened since then new
settlements have been established and a new road built
which shortens the route from Ben Gurion Airport to Jerusalem.
On the southern border is a large new park -"Canada
Nahum Goldmann Museum of the Jewish Diaspora, Klausner
St., University Campus, Ramat Aviv. Tel: 03-6462020. Open:
Sun., Mon., Tue. Thurs. 10am-4pm; Wed. 10am-6pm; Fri.
9am-1pm; Sat. closed.
Gurion's home: Library of 20,000 books, pictures, moments
of private & public life. Open daily: 8am-3pm; Fri. 8am-1pm;
Mon. 8am-5pm. 17 Ben Gurion Blvd., Tel: 03-5221010.
4 km. northeast of Ramallah. Bethel means
"House of God", where Jacob had his dream. "Sacred
Pillar" (Mazzevah). Remains of a house. Abraham,
our forefather built an altar in ancient Beit El; site
of Jacob's dream. After Joshua's conquest of Eretz Israel,
Beit El was included in the inheritance of the Tribe of
Benjamin. In the time of the Judges, a temple there was
used for worshipping God and as a judge's seat. Jeroboam
Ben Nevat set up a golden calf in the Temple. In the time
of Yishayahu abandoned after the destruction of the first
Temple, re-established after the return from Babylon,
continued throughout the 2nd Temple period. Fortified
by the Syrians during the Hasmonean revolt. Captured by
the Romans during the revolt against Rome. After the destruction
of the 2nd Temple, Beit El gradually declined. Excavations:
Evidence of settlement from Cannanite till end of Byzantine
period, remains of temple, palace, fortress etc.
King George St., near Allenby St. Colorful stands. Boisterous
competition for clientele. Shops for bargain hunters,
cut-price on clothing, and odds n' ends. Take buses 2,
4, 10, 18, 24, and 25.
St. corner Hacarmel St. Tel Aviv's largest open air market
with a traditional oriental atmosphere. Selling flowers
to saucepans. Good buys on clothes, shoes, & fresh produce.
Buses 2, 4, 10, 18, 24, and 25.
The coastal plain runs parallel to the Mediterranean Sea
and is composed of a sandy shoreline, bordered by stretches
of fertile farmland extending up to 25 miles (40 km.)
inland. In the north, jagged chalk and sandstone cliffs
occasionally punctuate expanses of sandy beach. The coastal
plain is home to more than half of Israel's over 5.5 million
people and includes major urban centers, deep-water harbors,
most of the country's industry and a large part of its
agriculture and tourist facilities.
Tel Aviv University Complex. Pavilions: Ceramics, Glass,
Numismatics, Ethnography & Folklore. Tel Qasile excavations
and gift shop. Open Sun.-Thurs. 9am-2pm; Sat. 10am-pm;
Wed. 9am - 6pm & Fri. closed. 2 Lavanon St. Tel: 03-6415244.
of Etzel, the retaliations against Arab terror & its struggle
to dissolve the British mandate. Open Sun.- Thurs., 9
am to 4 pm. 38 King George St., Tel: 03-5284001.
Kibbutz 7.5 Km. Southeast of Ramle on road to Latrum.
Tel Gezer: Site of ancient Gezer. Pottery remains found
on the site indicate habitation from Calcheolithic times
in the 4th millennium BCE. The importance of the site
derives from its being the chief point of entry from the
coastal plain to the Judean Hills. One of the towns conquered
by Joshua. King Solomon received it as a dowry on his
marriage with an Egyptian princess. Shimon the Hasmonean
captured it from the foreigners (140 BCE); built a palace
and a fortress and his son Yonathan became its commander.
Jews were settled there in Mishnaic and Talmudic times.
In the 12th century CE, great battles between Crusaders
and Arabs took place, and for a while it was a command
post o1 Sala-a-Din. Excavations have revealed ruins and
remains from all the periods of habitation. Kibbutz Gezer:
founded in 1945 CE on lands bought by English for the
Jews. In the War of Independence captured by the Arab
Legion, but recaptured within a few hours. 28 of the defenders
fell in the battle and 30 were taken prisoners.
preserve the Hagana heritage, the Hagana Museum opened
in April 1961. It traces the Hagana's development from
its predecessor organizations Bar-Giora and Hashomer through
its activities from 1920 to 1948, exploring the Palmach,
the Ha'apalah clandestine immigration movement, the War
of Independence, and the organization's integration in
the nascent IDF. The Museum was endowed as a gift to the
Ministry of Defense, an initiative of a public committee
headed by then Prime Minister Golda Meir. It is built
near what used to be the private residence of Hagana leader
Eliyahu Golomb. Two of the house's actual rooms are used
to display a permanent collection comprising 837 exhibits
and the Hagana archives. Besides holding lectures, enrichment
programs for schoolchildren and day seminars, the Museum
publishes journals and books. Open Sun.-Thurs., 9am to
4pm. 23 Rothschild Blvd., Tel: 03-5608624.
Oppenheimer Diamond Museum
small but interesting museum showing the history and technique
of diamond production, with a film. Revolving exhibitions,
on subjects such as jewelry and stamps with a diamond
theme, are also held here. Guided tours available. 1 Jabotinsky
St., in the Israel Diamond Exchange, Ramat Gan. Tel. (03)
5751547. Open: Sun.-Thurs. 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Tues. 10 a.m.-7
on 3 floors of the artist's residence in Old Jaffa. Open:
Sun., Thurs., Fri. 10am-4pm; Mon., Tues., Wed., and Sat.
10am-10pm Tel: 03-6837676.
Reconstructed and renovated about 30 years ago, Old Jaffa's
cobblestone paths and winding alleys twist through the
massive stone fortifications that surround the city. Visitors
can follow the walls that snake around the bottom of the
city for a look at how this ancient, colorful corner of
Jaffa is alive with some of the area's best seafood restaurants
and nightclubs. It is also home to artists' colony, art
galleries and high-quality craft shops.
Jaffa is south of TeI-Aviv on the Mediterranean coast
and, in the past, an important port. It was built by Jaffet,
the son of Noah, which explains the source of the name.
From the time of King Solomon until the destruction by
Tiglat Pilesser (732 BCE), it served as port for the kingdom
of Israel and Judea. It was the Jerusalem outlet to Mediterranean
in the reigns of David and Solomon. Jonah, who was swallowed
by a great fish, set out from here on his ill-fated voyage
to Tarshish. In the time of the Hasmoneans, the town was
populated mainly by Gentiles who, at one time, made the
Jews drown, for which Yehudah HaMaccabi burned the Jaffa
Port and killed many Gentiles. Simon the Hasmonean attached
Jaffa to his kingdom. The Romans turned it into a Roman
town called Plavia Yoffa. Jews kept living there and many
sages dwelled in it in the time of the Mishna and Talmud.
It was conquered by the Crusaders and rebuilt only in
the 17th century. Served mainly as a seaport for Jewish
and Christian pilgrims. In 1799 CE conquered by Napoleon
and then destroyed again. At the end of the 19th century,
Jewish immigrants started to come, and although the town
was populated mainly by Arabs, it became the main entrance
for Jews into the country and a basis for the establishment
of Tel -Aviv. When TeI-Aviv grew, the tension between
the Arabs of Jaffa and the Jews of Tel-Aviv became greater,
and various outbreaks of war occurred (1920, 1936-39 CE).
The closure of the Jaffa port brought the establishment
of the TeI-Aviv port. In the Independence War Jaffa was
conquered by the Israeli forces and most Arabs fled. In
1950 CE it was united with Tel-Aviv and after the opening
of the Ashdod port, the Jaffa port served fishermen only.
The old city was reconstructed and turned into artists'
suburb. Today it is a center for tourism and holiday and
has many shops and art galleries.
The Trappist Monastery of Latrun, where visitors can sample
and buy the monk's Domaine Latroun wines, fiery brandy,
olive oil and honey. Exiting the Jerusalem-Tel Aviv highway
at the Latrun Interchange, travelers tour the monastery,
vineyards and gardens, as well as the nearby remnants
of the Crusader castle of Le Toron des Chevaliers (Latrun
Abbey stands on the ruins of castle built by the Templars-end
12th century). The Trappist monks are members of a silent
order and their monastery, built in 1890, recalls the
traditional burial place of the "good thief"
crucified with Jesus, known since the Middle Ages as "Domus
Boni Latronis" (Latin for "resting place of
the good thief")...hence the name, Latrun.
between the coastal plain and hilly region to the east.
During the Mandate period Lod became a major railroad
intersection; the city was captured, along with Ramla,
in the War of Independence as a result of Operation "Danny"
in July 1948.The Greeks built the recent church of St.
George on the remains of the Crusader church. Israel's
international airport, renamed in honor of David Ben-Gurion,
was originally built on the outskirts of Lydda by the
British Mandatory government in 1936. It is the home base
for Israel's El Al airlines.
Remains of the Castle of Mirabel. Four kilometers east
of Petah Tiqva, the town of ROSH HA'AYIN is nondescript
in itself but its immediate environs contain a few sites
of historical significance. On the southeastern edge of
town, the ruin of a white Ottoman building, Migdal Zedek,
marks the site of a fortress used by the Jewish rebels
against the Romans during the Jewish War of 66-70 AD.
It was built on Byzantine and Crusader remains, of which
a Byzantine doorway topped by a Greek inscription still
survives. The building is closed to the public at present,
but the hilltop offers a good view of the area. The way
up, marked by a small 1948 war memorial, is just to the
north of Route 444 off the Rosh Ha'Ayin east turn-off
(Rehov Yehuda HaLevi). All that remains of the pre-1948
Palestinian village of Mzera'a, 4km to the south, is the
Mosque of Nabi Yahya (John the Baptist), by the East Side
of Route 444 at a turn-off for Karei Tzion. A small square
structure, it is in fact a second-century Roman mausoleum,
with a small mihrab added in a corner of the room that
once held the sarcophagus.
of hewn-out graves on the plain, 10 km. east of Lod, said
to be the graves of the Maccabeans, Mathityahu and four
of his sons, including Yehudah Hamaccabi. In our time,
a "Modi'in Torchlighting" ceremony is carried
out here by members of "Maccabi" at Hannukah:
the torch is carried by relays of runners to the President's
House in Jerusalem. 2 km. to the east - a small Arab village
said to be the site of ancient Modi'in, birthplace of
the Hasmoneans. Made famous as the site of the beginning
of the Maccabean revolts (165 BCE). Judah Maccabee's father
Mathityahu moved his family there during Antioch IV's
Hellenization of Jerusalem. Simon, the last surviving
brother of Judah Maccabee built an impressive family monument
on the summit of the hill consisting of 7 pyramids linked
by colonnades which became a site of Jewish pilgrimage
for more than 7 centuries. Modi'im was also the hometown
of the conservative Eleazar Ha Modi'im (2nd c. CE), who
was influential in defining rabbinical Judaism.
mountain north of Shechem, 940 m. above sea level. Called
in the Bible "The Mountain of Curse" as opposed
to Mount Grizim, south of Shechem, called "Mountain
of Blessing" (Deuteronomy 11, 29). Moshe (Moses)
Rabeinu placed representatives of six of the twelve tribes
on the mountain to read out the curses of the Lord which
shall be given to whoever does not follow the laws of
the Torah. At the foot of the mountain ancient tombs from
the different periods of the city of Shechem were discovered.
mountain south of Shechem, 881 m. high. Called in the
Bible "The Mountain of Blessing" (Deuteronomy
11,29). Moshe Rabeinu (Moses) placed representatives of
six of the twelve tribes on the mountain to read out the
blessings of the Lord, which shall be given, -to that
follows the laws of the Torah. In Arabic called GabeI-A-Tur,
derived from the Aramaic Tura Bricha (Har Habracha). The
Samaritans see it as their holy Moria Sanctified Mountain
to which they pilgrim and where they sacrifice the Passover
lamb. In the time of Alexander the Great they built their
own temple which was used as a religious, spiritual center.
In the year 125 BCE this Samaritan temple was destroyed
by Yochanan Horkenos the Hasmonean (on the east side of
the mountain the only thing left are the stairs leading
to that temple). Till this day the Samaritans keep their
rituals on this mountain. Nearby there is a synagogue
and a new Samaritan neighborhood.
story of the pioneers comes alive! Take a guided tour
of exhibits, enjoy a walk on "Pioneers' Way" and a unique
"Sound and Light" show at the Village Well. Kikar Ha'meyasdim.
Tel: 03-9641621, or 03-9682435.
in the center of Israel in the Plains of Sharon, Netanya
overlooks the Mediterranean Sea. Flights of steps from
its finely landscaped promenade lead down to the beaches,
where breakwaters have split the strip of sand into quiet
bays. Netanya is blessed with a great climate--long summers;
short, mild winters; and a temperate fall and spring.
Outdoor concerts, folk dancing, children's shows and popular
entertainment are scheduled all summer long. The Netanya
Diamond Center schedules free diamond cutting and polishing
Aviv's oldest quarter. Early 20th century buildings gradually
are being restored. Newly renovated theatre complex and
Dance Theater in restored school building. Find here the
Suzanne Dellal Center, beautiful art galleries and great
cafes all filled with tons of history. Rokach House is one
of the first houses of the Neve Tzedek neighborhood. The
museum exhibits paintings & sculpture. Open Hours: 10:00-14:00
Group visits during the week by appointment. Shimon Rokach
St. 36, Neve Tzedek, Tel Aviv-Jaffa Zip: 65148.Tel: 03-5162531
native of Neve Tzedek, he opened this excellent gallery
of acrylics, oils and lithographs which depict the history
of the Yishuv. 03-5161970. Daily 10am (incl. Sat.) 21
Rokach St. Entrance Fee.
Aviv's oldest quarter. Early 20th century buildings gradually
are being restored. Newly ren-ovated theatre complex and
Dance Theater in restored school building.
quaint, seaside port city. Its most historic portions
restored as an artistic and cultural Centre. Arabic and
Turkish architecture, ancient excavations, cobbled lanes,
studios, galleries, clubs, and cafes make it a leading
tourist attraction. Galleries, shops and restaurants are
overlooking the ocean. To be visited by day for browsing
and by night for nightlife.
Town on coastal plain, 10 km. east of TeI-Aviv. The name
means "Opening for Hope" and is taken from Hoshea
2, 17. Founded in 1878 on swampy ground by orthodox Jews
from Jerusalem. The first Jewish settlement of modem times
hence called "Mother of settlements". ln early
days malaria and neighboring Bedouin forced the settlers
to move to nearby Yahud. Only after the swamps were drained
could they return and reestablish the settlement. From
the beginning all work was performed by Jews, and it became
an important way station for 2nd Aliyah immigrants and
members of the Labor Movement. Nearby battles during World-War
I. Attacked by Arabs in 1921 CE. Given town status in
1937 CE .In course of time grew and developed; in 1989
CE - 130,700 inhabitants supported initially by Baron
Rothschild -"The Baron's Gate" at entrance to
the town commemorates him. Today has industry, a large
medical center, memorials to victims of 1921 CE massacre
and to the fallen of Israel's wars, a zoo, a museum. Park
Afek: important excavations partially reconstructed nearby.
The great mosque, originally the Crusader church of St.
John the Baptist. Well-preserved Crusader building.
Town on the coastal plain, 20 km south of Tel Aviv - name
taken from Genesis 26, 22; founded in 1890 CE. During
the 2nd Aliya it was an important social and cultural
center in the history of Jewish settlement; the first
Hebrew language instruction was given here to the Sephardic
community. The settlement developed greatly between the
two World Wars, and cultural and scientific institutions
were established. Dr. Haim Weizman, first president of
Israel, settled there. The Weizman Institute, the Hebrew
University Faculty of Agriculture and other scientific
and cultural institutes are in Rehovot.
Aux Fontaines des Sourdes (Les Loges). Remains of the
former residence of painter Rueven Rubin. Permanent collection:
selection of Rubin oil paintings from the 1920's and early
1970's. Open Sunday, Monday, Wednesday, Thursday: 10:00
a.m. - 2:00 p.m., Tuesday: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm and 4:00
pm -8: 00 pm. 14 Bialik Street, Tel: 03-5255961.
a breathtaking view from Tel Aviv's tallest building.
Multimedia room, sky-high cafe, lectures & guided tours.
Sun.-Thurs. 10am-6: 30pm Fri. and holiday eves. 10 am-2
pm; Sat. 11 am -4 pm. 1 Herzl Street, tel: 03-5177304.
Town in Samaria between Mount Grizim and Mount Ebal. Site
of ancient town with continuous existence from Canaanite
times to the present. (In 1993 CE - 90,000 inhabitants,
mainly Moslem; small Christian and Samaritan community).
Mentioned in Egyptian documents from the 19th century
BCE, In El Amarna letters, 14th century BCE. From the
time of the Patriarchs: Abraham built an altar nearby
(Genesis 12, 6-7); Jacob bought land and built an alter
(Genesis 33, 18-19); where the vengeance of Shimon and
Levy followed the abduction of their sister Dina. During
the time of the tribal settlement, the boundary between
the inheritance of Ephraim and Menashe was at Shechem
(Joshua 17,7). The town was one of the 6 cities of refuge
(Joshua 2,7). The body of Joseph was buried in Shechem
after it was returned from Egypt (Joshua 24,32). At Shechem
Joshua confirmed the covenant with the Lord. Gideon's
son, Avimelech, was crowned king of Shechem. After the
division of the Kingdoms Jeroboam made it his capital
(Kings I, 12, and 25). After the destruction of the Kingdom
of Israel, the Assyrian king settled exiled Samaritans
and Gentiles there (Kings 2, 17, 24). Sanbalat of Shechem,
governor of Samaria in the Persian period interfered with
the building of the walls of Jerusalem in the time of
Shivat Zion (Nechemia 3, 33-35). Alexander the Great allowed
the Samaritans to build a temple in Mount Grizim. In 129
BCE, Yochanan Horkenos extended the town and destroyed
the Samaritan temple, Vespasianus razed the ancient town
to the ground and built a new town between Mount Grizim
and Mount Ebal (the site of the present town), from whose
Latin name Neapolis the Arab name Nablus derives. It continues
to be known by the Latin name in Mishnaic and Talmudic
times. Afterwards it fell to the Byzantines and the Crusaders,
and subsequently to the Arabs. In the 13th century CE
Jews came to Shechem fleeing from Jerusalem during the
Mongol invasion. Travelers from the 16th century onwards
report on Jewish settlement there. Shechem was capture
by the IDF in the Six Day War. A Yeshiva had been established
near Joseph's tomb.
8 km. northwest of Shechem, on Shechem-Jenin road, near
Arab village Sebastia. Built by 0mri, King of Israel towards
the end of 9th century BCE and called Shomron in name
of Shemer, owner of the land (Kings, 16, 24). Capital
of the Kingdom of Israel tills its destruction, when the
Israelites were expelled and Assyrians replaced them afterwards
a Hellenistic center. Captured by Yochanan Horkenos the
Hasmonean. Alexander Yannai rebuilt it and settled Jews
there during Roman period. The town was again destroyed
in the revolt against Rome; rebuilt much later; in Byzantine,
Arab and Crusaders' hands and then, declined into a small
village. Remains of walls, royal palaces, buildings from
the time of the Kings of Israel; remains of splendid palace,
hippodrome, theater and temple from Roman period.
Ruins of a Crusader tower on the hill (Castle of St. Elias).
Ruins of Crusader Church of St. George.
Aviv/Jaffa Antiquities Museum
Mifratz Shlomo St. near Jaffa Port. Tel: 03-6825375. Archaeological
findings of Jaffa's rich past. Open Sunday to Thursday
9 am - 2 pm; Wednesday, 9am - 7pm; and Saturday, 10am
Shaul Hamelech Blvd. Permanent and changing exhibitions
of Israeli and International Art. Sunday, Monday, Wednesday,
Thursday 10am-6pm; Tuesday 10 am - 10 pm; Friday and Saturday
10am - 2pm. Tel: 03-6961297. See also the Helena Rubinstein
Pavilion for Contemporary Art - 6 Tarsat Blvd. Tel: 03-5287196,
opening hours as above.
Identified with Eglon (Joshua 10:3). Excavations have
revealed 8 levels, from 2600 BCE to the First Temple Period.
Between the 17th and 12th centuries BCE, a primitive,
pictographic Proto-Canaanite alphabet was employed in
Ramat Gan border levels from Stone Age to beginning of
Israelite period. Possibly Biblical Gat Rimon, a town
of the tribe of Dan (Joshua 19, 45-46).
of Eretz Israel Museum complex. Ancient Tel, once the
site of a Philistine settlement (12 BCE). Reconstructed
dwellings. Sun.-Thurs. 9am-12: 30pm. Fri.-Sat. closed.
Near the Tel Aviv University Campus.
house was built by Meir Dizengoff, one of the founders
of Tel Aviv and the first Mayor of the City. On the 14th
May 1948 David Ben-Gurion proclaimed in the House the
establishment of the Jewish State of Israel. In 1973 on
the initiative of David Ben-Gurion the House became the
Museum of the Bible. In 1980 the Hall of Independence
was inaugurated on the ground floor. The Hall is affiliated
to the "Land of Israel Museum" and recreates the events
of the Declaration of the State. The Wings of the Bible
Museum The Bible in Art Painting, Sculpture and Ceramics.
The Bible in prints Commentaries to the Bible and Apocrypha,
Encyclopedias, Biblical History, Geography, and Archeology;
maps, photos of the Dead Sea-scrolls, Bible critics, legends
and songs. An annual feature of the Museum is the Exhibition
"Israel's painters paint Bible" in cooperation with the
association of painters and sculptors, and the Exhibition
of "Israel's children paint Bible" in cooperation with
the Ministry of Education and Culture. There are constantly
changing exhibitions of the works of Artists, Israeli
as Foreign, on Biblical subjects. It is a tradition of
the Museum that the second-year school children of the
Tel Aviv grammar schools receive their first Bible-textbooks
here. Rothshild Boulevard 16, Tel-Aviv 66881, Israel Tel.
972-3-5177760 fax. 972-3-5107661 E-mail: email@example.com
Visiting Hours: Sunday to Thursday - 09:00 to 13:00 hrs.
Settlement on the coastal plain, on the Rishon-Le-Zion
Ashdod road, 8 km southwest of Rehovot. Established in
1949 by immigrants; present population - largely immigrants
from North Africa and Persia, Yemen and Europe. Ancient
Yavneh City in inheritance of the Tribe of Yehudah. Commercial
city on "Sea Road" with its own port near the
entry into the sea of the river Sorek. Mentioned in time
of King Uziah, captured by the Hasmoneans from the Greeks.
Important center of learning after the fall of the 2nd
Temple; Rabbi Yochanan Ben Zakai established the Yeshiva
"Kerem D'Yavneh"; the new Sanhedrin sat there
and the basis of the Mishnah was laid down. Declined from
its greatness after the Bar Kochba rebellion. Under various
controls till captured by the IDF. Grave of Raban Gamliel.
share the excitement at Israel's leading center of scientific
research. Absorb the atmosphere - the varied challenges
of research and the exuberance of success - all part of
the scientific endeavor. The center is open daily: Sunday
through Thursday, from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. The Visitors
Center also has a gift and coffee shop. Entrance fee:
25 NIS for adults; 15 NIS for students, soldiers in active
duty, physically handicapped, and senior citizens; 200
NIS for Groups requiring a guide.
ever your choice, contact About
Family Travel and let us design your vacation with
your personal needs in mind.